Complete newbie. Hardware required? Vehicle compatibility?

Discuss anything TunerPro related.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

FakeCarGuy

Complete newbie. Hardware required? Vehicle compatibility?

Post by FakeCarGuy »

So, I am a technician, and I'm used to using diagnostic machines and understand how modules work and stuff, but... I have no idea what software and hardware I need to start tuning OEM ECUs / PCM.

I'm looking for something that lets me plug into a car with my laptop, download a 'map', edit it, and then 'flash' install it.

Everywhere I look I can only find aftermarket ECUs. It's so confusing. I think i'd be pretty good at setting up values and actually creating a map - but I have no idea what i specifically need to actually get started.

Like, what hardware do I need to use TunerPro on a vehicle? What vehicles will TunerPro allow me to work on? Am I even able to connect to stock ECUs?

I'm just so confused trying to find the right products that will allow me to get started. I'm assuming there's no 'all-in-one' solution, so what hardware and software would I need to map euro cars? (VAG group, BMW, Mercedes etc.) Thanks a lot for any replies.
Nedjohns

Re: Complete newbie. Hardware required? Vehicle compatibility?

Post by Nedjohns »

let me know when you find any info on MB and vw
grimmechanic

Re: Complete newbie. Hardware required? Vehicle compatibility?

Post by grimmechanic »

Ok. I'm gonna bump this since it's only a year old...
I've read though the TunerPro users guide and understand it... mostly. The one part that's a bit ambiguous is how to extract a stock, OEM .bin file from an an installed ECU assuming it uses the standard OBD2 interface. I have a pass through device (a reputable ELM327 based one), and a registered copy of TunerProRT. Otherwise, I don't know crap, but I've been working on educating myself.

So my understanding of the basics is this: