Wideband O2 for E36 325i motronic 3.3.1 turbo

Discuss Bosch (Porsche, BMW, Volvo, etc) tuning topics here. Request definitions, discuss parameters, etc.

Moderators: robertisaar, dex

gitto

Wideband O2 for E36 325i motronic 3.3.1 turbo

Post by gitto »

Hello, i'm new in tuning world, i'm collecting my tuning gear and i really want your advice, i'm very limited in budget and also i cannot spend more than 100$ in one time because high custom import taxes in my country. (that sucks)

so, i'm searching wideband o2 sensor with gauge on ebay but kit from AEM costs about 160$, which is too much for me, as i said my max budget is 100$ to buy online. i see AEM kit contains too much stuff that i can replace them with simple stuff found in my garage. what i want is gauge and wideband sensor itself. wires, isolations, screws and that stuff i have plenty of them in my garage so it's not a problem, i dont want to pay for this overpriced items. i want to buy independently this stuff that is naccessarily needed to show correct AFR. i see Bosch sensors costs about 35$-40$ new on ebay, i'll buy it, i need also gauge which i see on ebay for like 20$ or so. is there anything that i need to buy? as i said wires screws and some diy stuff that needs simple "man" knowledge is not problem for me.

my build is E36 325i M50B25TU inside, with some mods for turbo, everything is made by me with help of my friends. it is budget build but we have too much work on it.

Thanks !!
Triangulé

Re: Wideband O2 for E36 325i motronic 3.3.1 turbo

Post by Triangulé »

hi gitto,

the AFR is a very important tool, because you will base your set up on your reading.
so the quality, realiability and stability is more than important to know what you are doing.
M50 is strong, but don't forget you will work on a turbo set up !

Old tuners in car factory, or old speed shop work with 5 gaz analysers.
It's much more powerfull to understand what is happening in the combustion process.