What's involved with with adding forced induction on a N/A ?

Discuss anything tuning related.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

pete_pumpkin

What's involved with with adding forced induction on a N/A ?

Post by pete_pumpkin »

Hi, I've just discovered this site and may I say it has given me some releif knowing that my future car mod plans are closer now.

A bit of backround about my self: I'm currently studying at a tech college a diploma in electronics. I've done a few introductory subjects dealing with digital and micros. We worked with the hc11 and a programe called 'mgtek miniide' to write basic programs ie add two numbers together (really just intro stuff); and we've just dealt with subroutines, interupts and i/o etc

Anyhow my problem/challenge/ learning curve :) is

I've got a 1993 3.8L V6 GM Holden Commodore with an '808' ecu and am in the process of setting up a turbocharger etc (I've just welded the manifolds).

I've heard from people that the ecu can handle anything upto twice (95rwkw to 200rwkw) the factory power on the stock program - with only a few problems. ie I need to fit a rising rate fuel regulator, a larger fuel pump and possibly larger injectors (althought the fuel reg can be cranked up somewhat)

I bought an 'interceptor' kit from a place called 'jaycar electronics' over here in Australia. This thing looked really promising with the ability to modify any voltage sensor with 128 load points etc.

After further reading I saw that it was more suited to a car which works with a MAF. My car doesn't have one, only a MAP. I've read that the MAP isn't very good to intercept, nor is the 02 sensor. So yeah I've given that a miss at the moment. (maybe the TPS?)

As you may be able to tell, my knowledge of how cars work isn't too high :)