Noob questions, BMW EWS delete

Discuss Bosch (Porsche, BMW, Volvo, etc) tuning topics here. Request definitions, discuss parameters, etc.

Moderators: robertisaar, dex

gearheadcurt

Noob questions, BMW EWS delete

Post by gearheadcurt »

Hey everyone, I'm completely new to tuning and I found this software via the interwebs.
My first question would be can I delete the various EWS types with this software? type 1 and type 2
I mainly deal with m50/m52 engines, and I'm getting sick of waiting for a tuner to get back to me with a remap, and ews delete. I either have to send it off or buy a dme from them.

If someone is willing to throw the new guy a bone and confirm this I'm definitely going to throw the Dev some money to support his endeavors.

Also the cars I'm hacking together are:
S52 e30 touring streetcar
M52 e30 touring drift car
and various other e36's I have laying about.

Thank you
Hairyscreech

Post by Hairyscreech »

All OBD2 ECUs that use onboard flash memory need to be flashed in situ or bench flashed, provided you have the tools to do this then you can edit these ECUs.
I believe Romraider may be more useful for the Siemens MS4xx ECUs, it certainly seems to be what they use more on the M52 Z3s.

For OBD1 ROM chip based ECUs (Bosch, M50 and back) then this is probably the best of the low cost tuning software. Everything else is quite closed source and people seem unwilling to let any info out which can make things hard if you have a less supported platform.

E36 wise we are pushing for better understanding of the M3.3 and M3.3.1 ECUs at the moment, we think EWS on the OBD1 is solved now by ether a bit swap on the EWS code or moving the EWS maps to a compatible non-EWS code base.

Fpr OBD1 you will need to get setup with a ROM emulator and chip burner. Moates do both and seem to be the standard goto equipment.