General Parameter Definition

Discuss Bosch (Porsche, BMW, Volvo, etc) tuning topics here. Request definitions, discuss parameters, etc.

Moderators: robertisaar, dex

Borbetier

General Parameter Definition

Post by Borbetier »

Hi there, as a newbie I am having trouble to understand the parameters in TunerPro. Is there a definition of the shown parameters and values???

I am trying to understand the "stock 173 bin" with "BMW_M20B25_ecu173_sw705" XDF and there are some issues:

Example 1: With the above mentioned basic-data I get 4 WOT (and other)maps, maybe these are for cold engine, hot engine,...but what are the other 2 for and why are they similar? Which ones do I have to tune? All?

Example 2: I thought, all the fuel-tables are 3D as the ignition times, i.e. "rpm and load axis" with some "injection value" [e.g. in milisecond opening time or raw data equivalent to this], but only the "low load fuelling" is 3D, "fuelling WOT 1-4" is only 2D? Is it because everything over 75% is simply WOT?

Example 3: Also the "ignition times", why are WOT-curves 2D?

Example 4: What exactly are the "O2-Sensor Adaption" and the "O2 Sensor targets"? Are these responsible for lambda-regulation-off i.e. open loop???

and so on...I know I should do something of my own, but starting really is tough. I think I need someone to explain a lot ;-) but once I know, I am highly willing to contribute.

Thx from here

B.
Borbetier

Post by Borbetier »

Also I would like to know the parameter units.

Example I: The XDF doesn´t show every unit for every axis. Although I know, that spark table usually is rpm vs. load (kPa=throttle position) and values are spark advance [° BTDC] i am missing some units for AFR or other maps.

Example II: Revlimits are, afaik, not in real dec number, but similar, like user "aboutton" once posted here. What are the calculating factors for these values (not only rev limit!)?