OMG!!! New to tuneing and completly lost!

Discuss anything tuning related.

Moderators: Mangus, robertisaar, dex

bertbert

OMG!!! New to tuneing and completly lost!

Post by bertbert »

ok so here goes

I recently acquired a 95 slp Firehawk #524..... great car few issues...lol

the car runs like its at the track all the time... i mean it shifts hard, fuel mileage sucks, and generally can't paw paw around in it!!

the 1>2 shift will break your neck if your not expecting it.....

so i started the normal maintainace stuff plugs wires filters ... changed all the fluids....

still acts like a drag car.. so im thinking its computer tuneing the Previous owner had done... 17 year old kid with a laptop :(

i have dl the bin useing winflash and opened it via tunerpro rt but for the life of me cant make heads or tales of it ( i am a pretty good mechanic and understand what the fields are and how they affect the engine) but it boggles me as to what numbers to use or how to adjust properly.....

iv watched tons of utubes and read many how-to's..... even have pages of notes but i guess im just scared to commit to changing any data..

iv used the compare functions extensivly to compare to several stock bins i have found on the net.... just confused me more as to y these numbers are were they are on my file!!

so i was curious? would a kind hearted person take a look at mine and tell me what i should do? im honestly thinking of loading a stock file to start from scratch?? is my file ok? idk i guess im just a lil lost and would like some one to point me in the right direction

i want to learn this as it applies to many of my vehicles and would love to tune my impala ss and gmc truck... so i just need a teacher not some one to do it for me

pretty pls
bertbert

Post by bertbert »

sry here are the details on the car

95 firehawk (firebird)
lt1 stock as far as i know
4l60e Stock as far as i know.... but it wont datalogg properly ( i dont see any info for it in the tuner fields)