FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

 
I want to write a ALDL definition File

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> ScannerPro Beta Discussion
 
Sledgehammer007



Joined: 07 Jul 2007
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:07 am    Post subject: I want to write a ALDL definition File Reply with quote

Ok Here is what I have

A copy of the A039 Data Stream. I believe that is what I need for my 88 Cavalier Z24, 2.8 MPFI.

A copy of scanner pro, and tunerpro RT.

The autoprom and Laptop

I'm really good at editing Bin's, when I have a completed definition but have never written a .xdf file ether.

I took 2 courses in college for VB6 and thats about the extent of my programing experience. Not real good with Hex but I can stumble my way through.

If I get the time tonight I am going to try and open the EE.adx file and convert it to what i need for my cavalier with the info on my attachment.

Is there something else I'm missing or will need?

Is there any kind of guide to this stuff or is it possible to figure out on my own?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1789

PostPosted: Sun Oct 14, 2007 2:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unfortunately I haven't yet written any kind of guide or documentation, because the definition format is still a bit in flux (or at least the UI).

You're not missing anything. If you want a good example, take a look at the 6E ADX and compare it to A059.ds - that should give you a working example to reverse engineer.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Six_Shooter



Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 590

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 4:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

On the topic of .ds files...

What program do I need to view these? I downloaded the "ALDL stuff" zip folder from fileman, un-zipped it, but that's about all I've been able to do with it so far, and I figured I would be able to find something useful in there too.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1789

PostPosted: Sat Apr 26, 2008 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

notepad
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Six_Shooter



Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 590

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
notepad


Sweet, thanks Mark.

Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Six_Shooter



Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 590

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
Unfortunately I haven't yet written any kind of guide or documentation, because the definition format is still a bit in flux (or at least the UI).

You're not missing anything. If you want a good example, take a look at the 6E ADX and compare it to A059.ds - that should give you a working example to reverse engineer.


Is this "6E ADX" that you mention the "6E_160baud.adx" or "6E_8192.adx"?

These are both in the "Bin definitions" that seems to be a part of the Scanner Pro download.

TIA.
Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Six_Shooter



Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 590

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 1:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ok, so it looks like the proper adx to reference is "6E_160baud.adx", since what I see as a pattern is what I thought I saw yesterday, but then it didn't seem to crossreference between Scanner Pro and Tuner Pro RT for the same application.

The pattern I see is that the "byte" used by Tuner Pro RT, is converted to hexidecimal, and used in the "Packet Offset (Hex)" location in the adx editor.

Is that correct mark?

I compared the "6E_160baud.adx", to A059 file that I downloaded from file man, and this is where I figured out this pattern.

If what I see is correct, why do the same applications seem to use different bytes of the datastream between the .ads used by TP RT and the .adx used by Scanner Pro. I compared $59 .ads and .adx files, and I believe a few others, and none seem to match between the two programs.

BTW, the "import" function doesn't seem to really do anything, as that was my first attempt, to create a new .adx. I'm sure you know this, but just wanted to point that out if it was supposed to work.

Smile

*EDIT*

Well I figured it out....

Yesterday when I was comparing .ads and .adx files for code $59, I forgot that hexidecimal starts at 0 (0x00 or $00), and that numerical starts 1 (I remembered the latter Razz ), so I didn't offset the byte number by -1 when I was comparing them. Now it all makes sense.

I'm still curious about the "unique ID" box and it's function in the program.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1789

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

A059 has both the 160 baud stream and the 8192 baud stream (which is a little further down in the DS file).

ScannerPro uses a 0-based offset (the first offset is 0), and tunerPro uses a 1-based (the first offset is 1).
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Six_Shooter



Joined: 06 May 2007
Posts: 590

PostPosted: Sun Apr 27, 2008 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
A059 has both the 160 baud stream and the 8192 baud stream (which is a little further down in the DS file).

ScannerPro uses a 0-based offset (the first offset is 0), and tunerPro uses a 1-based (the first offset is 1).


I noticed that both baud rates were defined in the A059 file, which I thought was kinda odd. As far as I knew (GM) ECMs were only capable of communicating on the ALDL link in one speed (baud) or the other.

Just clarify, the addressing, in the $42 datastream file the Byte numbers start at "1", so this would actually "0" or "0x00" in Scanner Pro, correct? This would make each byte one lower numerically than what is shown in the datastream file that I have. "1" in the file = 0 "0x00", 2 in file = 1 "0x01", 3 in file = 2 "0x03, etc?

Can you look in my thread ("creating ADX files"), and let me know if I'm on the right track.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1789

PostPosted: Mon Apr 28, 2008 5:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

1227165 ECMs can communiate at 160 and 8192 baud.

The unique ID is used to uniquely identify each item by the software's inner-workings. This ID is used when linking output from one item as input to another (for instance in the fuel economy value in the included definition).
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> ScannerPro Beta Discussion All times are GMT - 9 Hours
 
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
RedSquare theme 1.0.3 © DoubleJ(Jan Jaap)