FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

 
Stopped reading ALDL data

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> ScannerPro Beta Discussion
 
kaylin4u



Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:25 am    Post subject: Stopped reading ALDL data Reply with quote

LOVE IT LOVE IT LOVE IT!!!!!!

8D '7730

Well, it stopped reading ALDL after I stopped it once and couldn't get it started it again. I'll be looking at a bit more, but is there anything I can do resync it?

Thanks for the hard work. It'll be well worth the money when you release the full version.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 1:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you close and re-open ScannerPro when this happens, can you reconnect? If not, get me the repro steps if possible.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
kaylin4u



Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I still can't get it to connect. Everything is correct, the com port number and all. I tried to reproduce what I did the other day with no luck. Gave up and started Datamaster and it's working okay.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Mon Oct 16, 2006 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What kind of vehicle?
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
kaylin4u



Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 5:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

'7730 SD $8D Mask

It's on a 1991 Firebird 383 HSR.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Tue Oct 17, 2006 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm, there's another tester using $8D. I'm not sure he's having these problems. I'll have to think about what else can cause it. Will you continue to experiment?
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
JP86SS



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 217
Location: Strongsville, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mine seemed ok on logging/connection, just playback was giving me troubles. Connection speed was a bit slow at max of 4 hz but not sure if it was my 98 laptop causing it.
Will be playing some more tonight.
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 

 
JP86SS



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 217
Location: Strongsville, Ohio

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just had a thought when reading the other post.
The "FFFFFFFF" offset in my definition for the Prom ID may be the whole problem.
Could just be an import error from when I brought in my existing definition. Will test that theory tonight.
Jp
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 

 
kaylin4u



Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 5:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm going out of town tomorrow, but planned on doing more testing this weekend.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 

 
JP86SS



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 217
Location: Strongsville, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 4:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JP86SS wrote:
Just had a thought when reading the other post.
The "FFFFFFFF" offset in my definition for the Prom ID may be the whole problem.
Jp

Nope, didn't fix it.
I'll try the new version Smile
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JP86SS wrote:
JP86SS wrote:
Just had a thought when reading the other post.
The "FFFFFFFF" offset in my definition for the Prom ID may be the whole problem.
Jp

Nope, didn't fix it.
I'll try the new version Smile


What problem are you trying to solve exactly? The slow connection? What are the specs of your Win98 machine? ScannerPro, currently, is pretty system intensive. I'd recommend a 300 mhz or better (my Win98 laptop is a 400).
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
JP86SS



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 217
Location: Strongsville, Ohio

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its an Intel 800 but only has 128 ram, 60 Gb drive (46 free), running serial cable with USB on the AutoProm.
I changed to a fixed swapfile to see if that would help.
Couple things I did find was that having 32 bit video was slowing me down allot. Changed to 16 bit and picked up a few hz. This machine must be using shared vid memory too. Looking at DMA to possibly help if not enabled on my drive.
Still runs no faster than 4-5 but I could deal with that for now.
Was in the 0.3-2hz range before.
Loading and editing etc runs my CPU at about 30%. Playback pegs it and won't give back CPU% until you exit SP. Even with stopped playback.
You might want to look into that one.
Main issue is not able to replay logs. Can see data when logging even though it was slow tonight at 0.5 hz but will not replay.
Thought that strange offset in the definition might have caused it.

Were you able to play the logs I sent over?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JP86SS wrote:
Were you able to play the logs I sent over?


Haven't tried. A fixed swap file shouldn't help. More memory definitely would. If you're hitting the swap file at the same time that the app is requesting log data (from disk), then that's going to slow things down, although the file cache should mostly help there. 128 MB of RAM is minimal for sure.

Regarding pegging the CPU, again, it's intensive, however the playback thread should disappear shortly after playback is stopped. Maybe you could download process explorer (or a similar tool) and watch the thread count on your machine while this is happening? I don't seem to have these issues on my Win98 machine, which seems strange.

Your video card could also definitely be the issue. If it has poor 2D (GDI) performance, it would impact (and block) playback.

Could be a ton of things. We'll get it figured out.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
kaylin4u



Joined: 12 Oct 2006
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

BTW, I'm running XP Pro on a Dell Lattitude D600 784MB Ram using my serial port on a Mastach ALDL cable. I also have a USB to Serial adapter that I can use. Do you think I should drop my baud speed or do anything particular to get this thing to connect? Could my system be too fast where it can't sync?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1802

PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kaylin4u wrote:
BTW, I'm running XP Pro on a Dell Lattitude D600 784MB Ram using my serial port on a Mastach ALDL cable. I also have a USB to Serial adapter that I can use. Do you think I should drop my baud speed or do anything particular to get this thing to connect? Could my system be too fast where it can't sync?


No, your machine isn't too fast. It could be serial port or your cable, I suppose.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
JP86SS



Joined: 22 Apr 2004
Posts: 217
Location: Strongsville, Ohio

PostPosted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 3:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just FYI,
I am able to log and replay on the 98SE laptop with the 394.
Good job Smile
Havn't been able to start the motor today but all sensors were indicating.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
 

Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic  
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> ScannerPro Beta Discussion All times are GMT - 9 Hours
 
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
RedSquare theme 1.0.3 © DoubleJ(Jan Jaap)