FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

 
Immediate crash when loading XDF

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> Report A Bug
 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2017 8:04 am    Post subject: Immediate crash when loading XDF Reply with quote

- Windows 10 Pro, version 1703, build 15063.608 (newer PC, not much loaded on it)
- TunerPro, build 5.00.9107.00

TunerPro crashes when I load this XDF, but the same XDF works on a Windows 7 computer. Not sure where I should be looking to fix the problem.

https://raw.githubusercontent.com/dmacpro91/BMW-XDFs/master/98G0B.xdf
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using the latest build? I can load it without issue. What language/locale is your PC set to?
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All version/build info is in the original post.

English/USA
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Can you please email me a bin? Does it crash if you don't have a bin loaded?

Aside from that, you're using exactly the same setup I am, and I cannot repro.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 10:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

No .bin file is necessary to make it crash.

I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling TunerPro. It also crashes with this XDF:
https://raw.githubusercontent.com/dmacpro91/BMW-XDFs/master/I8A0S%20(Standard%20Units).xdf

(copy/paste the link... BBCode doesn't like the parentheses in the link)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is there any way to generate a log file of the crash?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

x99percent wrote:
Is there any way to generate a log file of the crash?


Not unless you have Visual Studio installed, and can attach and generate a crash dump.

Are your settings the same between the two machines (win7/win10)?

I can load both XDFs, here.

What happens if you load it on the Win7 machine, save it out in TunerPro, then open the result in Win10? It looks like these definitions may have been generated by a tool(?).
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
Are your settings the same between the two machines (win7/win10)?


Haven't made any setting changes.

Last attempt:
- uninstall TunerPro
- delete "Documents\TunerPro Files" and "Program Files (x86)\TunerPro" directories
- reinstall TunerPro
- run it, load XDF
- crash

Mangus wrote:
What happens if you load it on the Win7 machine, save it out in TunerPro, then open the result in Win10? It looks like these definitions may have been generated by a tool(?).


I am using identical XDFs between computers (directories are synced).
Tried saving both XDFs as new files from the Win7 TunerPro, and they still crash on Win10.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 11:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

TunerPro build 5.00.8853.00 does not crash..!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Mon Sep 25, 2017 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've made no changes to XDFs in between. The major change was moving to a new compiler, and ultimately a new C runtime.

Maybe try running windows update to make sure your PC has the llatest runtime installed?

I'm grasping at straws; I have no explanation for why it would work on mine and not yours.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
x99percent



Joined: 19 Sep 2017
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 26, 2017 9:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Somewhere between Windows updating to build 15063.632 and upgrading TunerPro from 5.00.8853.00 to 5.00.9107.00, it started working... no more crashes!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
bradsm87



Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the exact same issue on two computers with fresh installs (and fully updated) Windows 10 Fall Creator's update (the most recent Win 10 version).

The weird thing is another computer with same Windows build doesn't do it!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2018 2:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

None of my machines repro it with files sent from other reporting parties. I suspect it has to do with different versions of the CRT being installed on different machines. I'm still trying to figure out how to fix this.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
bradsm87



Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
None of my machines repro it with files sent from other reporting parties. I suspect it has to do with different versions of the CRT being installed on different machines. I'm still trying to figure out how to fix this.


I've also tried latest Windows Insider preview build but same thing. It happens with many different XDFs for me.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2018 2:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please help me out by installing this: https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/VC_redist.x86.exe

Then run windows update, take any missing updates, reboot, and try to repro.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
bradsm87



Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
Please help me out by installing this: https://aka.ms/vs/15/release/VC_redist.x86.exe

Then run windows update, take any missing updates, reboot, and try to repro.


Done but no luck. Still crashes when loading an XDF.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2018 5:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for trying. I don't know how to tackle this at the moment. Hopefully I can find a local machine that reproduces this.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
bradsm87



Joined: 08 Feb 2015
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2018 11:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
Thanks for trying. I don't know how to tackle this at the moment. Hopefully I can find a local machine that reproduces this.


I'm an IT tech and have heaps of spare computers at work. If you like, I can find one that reproduces the problem and you could have a look remotely if you like? I can just leave it on for a couple of days if you don't want to do it all in one chunk.

2/3 of the computers I regularly use do it so I have to remote in to the one that works every time I need to use TunerPro so I look forward to it working on all.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
blackdef



Joined: 13 Apr 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi to all, i'm in the same situation, win 10 and tuner pro won't works together.... how i load XDF tuner crash... anyone have a idea??
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
blackdef



Joined: 13 Apr 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

an australian guys tell me to trie to remove the Tuner Pro folder un My Documents and now it's working!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
blackdef



Joined: 13 Apr 2018
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 13, 2018 3:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

del msvcp100.dll into MyDocuments\Tuner Pro Files\Plugins and it return to work
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I can confirm solution in last post. Situation: fresh installed w10 laptop, with no office or anything. Jst w10 and drivers with all updates.
I think it misses a runtime or dll to have the msvcp100.dll working
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1811

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2018 11:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've removed these DLLs from the installer for future versions, so this should no longer be an issue with the next release.

Thanks.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
fostytou



Joined: 04 Sep 2018
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I want to reply that this is still an issue for me. I had 2 Windows 10 X64 laptops with fresh, first time TunerPro 5.00.9159.00 and had an unexplained crash (didn't matter running as admin, disabling Windows defender, etc) as soon as I tried to load known working XDF files.

After removing msvcp100.dll from C:\[user]\My Documents\Tuner Pro Files\Plugins\ corrected the issue on both laptops. It also worked to just rename msvcp100.dll to msvcp100.dll.original here.

Thanks!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
 

Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> Report A Bug All times are GMT - 9 Hours
 
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
RedSquare theme 1.0.3 © DoubleJ(Jan Jaap)