FAQFAQ SearchSearch MemberlistMemberlist UsergroupsUsergroups RegisterRegister
ProfileProfile Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages Log inLog in

 
Windows 8.1 fileopen dialog

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> Report A Bug
 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 2:10 am    Post subject: Windows 8.1 fileopen dialog Reply with quote

I upgraded my desktop from Windows 8.0 to 8.1(x64). Now in tunerpro when I want to open an xdf or bin, when I have the fileopen dialog, as long as I select a file in the directory where I'm in, no problem, but when I select a subdirectory from where I am at the moment, and doubleclick that or choose "open" it does open that subdirectory but at the same time tries to open the last file, marked at the bottom line. That does not work because the file in that line is not in the other subdirectory. Then get errordialog: Select Bin to open: xxxx.bin this file doesn't exist, create the file?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Thu Nov 14, 2013 7:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi,

Any chance the files you're trying to open are in the Program Fiiles subdirectory? If so, don't open your files from there (as I believe you'll need admin privs to do so). Instead, store your files on your desktop, your documents folder, off the root of a drive (e.g. "e:\foo\myfile.xdf") or just about anywhere else.

Let me know if that gets you working. If not, a video of your screen during a repro of the behavior would be helpful.

Thanks for the report!

-Mark
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sat Nov 16, 2013 6:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

here is a movie that shows it:
http://youtu.be/kij8jdPzRa8

No does not depend where files are, I have full rights. Files were in same place before upgrade from win 8.0 to 8.1, there it worked
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Mon Nov 18, 2013 10:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could it be a Google Drive issue in 8.1? That's certainly a substantial "unknown" that's in the middle, here.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 2:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
Could it be a Google Drive issue in 8.1? That's certainly a substantial "unknown" that's in the middle, here.


No unfortunately not. I put a bin file in d:\ browsing to d: and opening gives the error, and after I opend the one in d:\ and browse to c: to open another one, same error.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Wed Nov 20, 2013 3:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Alright, I'll take a closer on my 8.1 machine.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
The1



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Oct 03, 2014 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i have this issue as well with windows 8.1, like the filename box needs to be cleared when the dialogue opens.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Turbosport



Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2015 1:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is the same as my issue I posted.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
The1



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

still same issue here on 8.1 machine with latest 8606 version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Turbosport



Joined: 26 Jun 2006
Posts: 48

PostPosted: Mon May 25, 2015 4:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes still a real pain
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 1:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please Mangus, take another look in it, I have all PC's on windows 10 and all have it.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Tue Jul 05, 2016 7:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pauldaytona wrote:
Please Mangus, take another look in it, I have all PC's on windows 10 and all have it.


You're telling me you have this issue on Win10? I run Win10 on all my machines and haven't hit this.

Note that TunerPro uses a standard Windows API to bring up the file open dialog. Windows does all the work to display the box and make it function. Although I am provided a set of parameters which control, at a high level, the functionality, details like this are likely issues in Windows itself.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
richrich



Joined: 28 Jul 2016
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 2:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

pauldaytona wrote:
Please Mangus, take another look in it, I have all PC's on windows 10 and all have it.


Agreed. Still get this on all 3 individual Win10 PCs I use.

Thought it would have been fixed by now.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 6:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, I can reproduce the issue now. I'm not sure this is something I can fix (again - the open file window is entirely controlled by Windows), but let me look around.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2016 8:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is fixed for the next build. =)
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2016 11:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mangus wrote:
This is fixed for the next build. =)


Glad you have found a solution. Something in windows will have changed.

I can test it before release if you want. Just send me a version
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
The1



Joined: 20 Jul 2011
Posts: 33

PostPosted: Fri Oct 21, 2016 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

just a tickle to see when the next version is coming out? So we can have this issue solved Smile
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Mangus
TunerPro Author


Joined: 19 Mar 2003
Posts: 1814

PostPosted: Sat Oct 22, 2016 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Sorry for the delay. I'm at the tail end of implementing a more "involved" feature that has me at an inconvenient point to spin a build.

I'll try to get something out in the next week.
_________________
***************************************
TunerPro Author
1989 Trans Am
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
Avinitlarge



Joined: 21 Jan 2014
Posts: 12

PostPosted: Sat Oct 29, 2016 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Im glad for have managed to sort it out, It is So annoying. Looking forward to the next release without this issue
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

 
pauldaytona



Joined: 31 Aug 2013
Posts: 22

PostPosted: Sun Jan 15, 2017 6:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

case solved thanks Magnus.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
 

Display posts from previous:   
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Post new topic   Reply to topic    TunerPro User Forum Forum Index -> Report A Bug All times are GMT - 9 Hours
 
Page 1 of 1
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
RedSquare theme 1.0.3 © DoubleJ(Jan Jaap)